• Advertisement
RTAW Advertiser

Mike's First budget tank 4 foot- newbie

The purpose of this forum is to allow people to showcase their tanks, and allow other uses to ask questions on equipment, livestock, methodology etc.

Moderators: Moderators, Promotions, Competitions & Sponsorship, Mod: Tank Journals

Mike's First budget tank 4 foot- newbie

Postby iron man » Tue 28 Oct, 2008 7:03 am

Hi Everyone:
This is my first marine tank, so I thanks ahead for any advise/tips given. As I am only very new to this hobby, will sure ask a lot of stupid quesiton.

I started planning all this about 3 months back, when one of my mate is decided he no longer needed the fish and the live rock. It took me a while as I was brave/stupid enough to build my own fish tank stand first (in a unit)instead of buying it after reading quite a few post on forum.

Only got two clown at moment which was given to me , there is also a yellow tang, however he died at my mate's place before I could return from oversea and move him over.

I am planning to add more fish as I go , but at moment just taking it slow for now. (any suggestion welcome?)

Will put in coral once I am confident enough on what I am doing. (may be in a month or two)
As I am very busy normally, so after some low maintance coral /fish in the future.

So here we go: :devil:

I got used 2'' and 4'' pine from bunning. total cost me about $100 when finished ( I am on a budget thanks to the stock market)

Just got a standard 4 foot tank with buildin weir.

Sump just a standard 2 foot tank for the moment
Skimmer using Reef Octopus Vento 6520 $199
return pump $100 - 1900L /Hr
Heater - 200w $79

Coming together as I go
Almost done
finally finished, but had to return the tank for a one with weir in it.

Using a standard Aqua Nova T5 at moment -

two clown
Last edited by iron man on Fri 05 Dec, 2008 7:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
iron man
RTAW Reefer

Postby triplesided » Tue 28 Oct, 2008 11:11 am

Looking good so far :thumbsup: