• Advertisement
RTAW Advertiser

Rusty1's 6x2x2 - [Winner TOTM June 2009]

The purpose of this forum is to allow people to showcase their tanks, and allow other uses to ask questions on equipment, livestock, methodology etc.

Moderators: Moderators, Promotions, Competitions & Sponsorship, Mod: Tank Journals

Rusty1's 6x2x2 - [Winner TOTM June 2009]

Postby Rusty1 » Fri 03 Oct, 2008 11:35 pm

Introduction:
I have been keeping marine's for 2 years now and this is my 3rd upgrade in that time. I started with a 3 x 18 x 18 then moved onto a 4 x 2 x 2'4 which is my current set up. This new 6 x 2 x 2 has been my most thought out to date and is a prelude to a 6'6 x 3 x 2'4. The bigger tank will be an in wall tank which will have a dedicated fishroom and is 2 years away, once we finally get into the new house we have just bought.
I also enjoy been involved in the community and like to give back to fellow members of our society whatever way I can. If it had not been for the likes of long time MASQ members Tone, SteveMG, Dennison, Bill and Sherro57 I would more than likely have thrown in the towel after 6 months. Been a member of MASQ has allowed me to not only to meet fellow reefers but also make some great new friends.
All of the equipment that I have purchased since moving to the 4 x 2 x 2'4 has been with a much larger tank in mind :)

System Objectives: I am hoping to maintain a successful mixed reef tank incorparating fish, SPS, LPS and a limited amount of softies. I like movement in my tanks and while I love the colors from SPS I can not escape the mesmorising effect LPS and some softies bring to a tank. I also like to see fish swimming around and hope to achieve the desired result through good husbandry techniquies and use of natural diltration methords such as live rock, remote DSB and refugium.

System Type: Mixed Reef

Display System: