• Advertisement
RTAW Advertiser

Howie1207s 4x2x2

The purpose of this forum is to allow people to showcase their tanks, and allow other uses to ask questions on equipment, livestock, methodology etc.

Moderators: Moderators, Mod: Tank Journals, Promotions, Competitions & Sponsorship

Howie1207s 4x2x2

Postby Howie1207 » Sat 05 Jul, 2008 9:29 am

As the case with a lot of people I have been meaning to start a tank journal ever since setting up my tank. So here goes – Sorry for a mammoth first couple of posts..

I have been keeping Cichlids in a standard 4 foot tank for over 10 years. It was always an understanding with my wife that upon us buying a house, I can get a marine tank. We bought a house in April 2006 and in Janaury 2007 my friend Adrian who had a marine tank for years pointed me towards MASA and thus I started researching Woo hoo!!! Thankyou to all the people who answered the many questions that I asked. And I assure you all, there were many. The best advice was – read, read, read before you spend any money. I’ve spent a scary amount of money, but I would have spent more without that advice.

My mates tank was an established (5yo) standard 4 footer with in tank DSB and a couple of powerheads. His skimmer broke 12 months before, thus no skimming. His tank was humming along with zero nitrates etc. He was moving house, thus packing his system up and the plan was for his livestock to go into my tank. Thus I wanted to have my tank up and running 3 months before the transfer to ensure inhabitant survival.

So after all the reading, with my mates tank as a baseline, I came up with this plan:
TANK - a mixed reef/fish eurobraced 4x2x2 tank with offset centre weir.
FILTRATION An in tank DSB with liverock (modelled on my friends tank).
SUMP - A DIY sump underneath with skimmer, heaters and return and a section for running carbon and stuff like rowaphos.
CABINET - A DIY cabinet with the modern look that fits in with my other furniture