• Advertisement
RTAW Advertiser

Steve's 3x2x2.5 [TOTM February 2009] Just Random Pictures

The purpose of this forum is to allow people to showcase their tanks, and allow other uses to ask questions on equipment, livestock, methodology etc.

Moderators: Moderators, Promotions, Competitions & Sponsorship, Mod: Tank Journals

Steve's 3x2x2.5 [TOTM February 2009] Just Random Pictures

Postby Rhys123 » Wed 17 Oct, 2007 11:02 pm

Oh well here goes.

What I wanted

I wanted a marine tank to fit a very specific place in our house. Needless to say I thought the whole process was going to be relatively easy (first mistake how misinformed I was) so of to the local LFS (yep getting the hang of the lingo) to check out how much it was going to cost me BIG SHOCK

After a conservative quote (so I was told) of $3000 and me being a stubborn sort of guy a good 1/3 of the quote was to do with the stand and hood being a handy sort of guy (fitter/machinist by trade) I had an idea (second mistake) lets make a stand and hood.

So here starts the beginning of no doubt a very rewarding but expensive hobby I am determined to succeed at (thank god I found this site).

So here is where the tank is going

This position can be seen from all the living area so should be a good place plus that fireplace is so ugly.

Tank Stand 1/2 built (found this site 1/2 way through build)

One of many mistakes I used chipboard as a base but I covered it in a waterproof fish pond paint (a lot of water proof fish pond paint)

At this stage thought that it was time to jump up and down on it to see if it has the potential to hold 400l of water and rock.

And here we are at the 3/4 mark need to add one upward lifting door or maybe a pull out piece secured by magnets and rim around where the tank sits.

One last photo of our other spoilt pet.

I wouldn't give her a biscuit

Biggest lesson learnt so far I am a Fitter/Machinist not a carpenter.