• Advertisement
RTAW Advertiser

Choosing the right camera

This forum is for the discussion relating to all aspects of diving, collect and photography of marine related subjects. You can discuss equipment, software, or just display your photographs for critique.

Moderators: Moderators, Promotions, Competitions & Sponsorship, Mod: Photography Forum

Choosing the right camera

Postby andowhy » Fri 04 Jan, 2013 10:40 am

Hi All,

So I am looking at purchasing a SLR camera, well have been meaning to for a while, but since embarking on my reef jourey its turned into a necessity. Just wondering are there any reef specific settings/options I should be looking for when choosing a camera? The majority of its use will be on the tank but it will also be used for holiday snaps etc.

Regards,
Darren
andowhy
Curious Reefer

Re: Choosing the right camera

Postby LPS fan » Fri 04 Jan, 2013 11:28 am

I'm no expert but in the same position. Looking for something with a big sensor, good ISO and strong video.
For reefing pics what you want a good macro lens and a stand (so you can take a high and low level exposure photo and combine)
Reef central has a whole forum for photography, perhaps ask there and include your budget?
LPS fan
Centurion Reefer

Postby andowhy » Fri 04 Jan, 2013 11:29 am

ahh didnt even know there was a photography thread, I'll read through the forum, so if this post is superfluous it can be locked.
andowhy
Curious Reefer

Postby Bandit » Fri 04 Jan, 2013 11:33 am

generally with SLRs, it is more about the quality of the glass you put in front of the body than the body itself.

Most SLRs these days will do what you need them to do. Manual focus, white balance, tripod mount etc etc etc

Invest in a good macro lens for your reef shots, a tripod and you are done.
Bandit
Too Much Time On My Hands Reefer

Postby germar74 » Fri 04 Jan, 2013 4:43 pm

something that was brought to my attention in last couple of days