• Advertisement
RTAW Advertiser

Testing Regime

A place to discuss water chemistry and in depth and cutting edge discussions of advanced methodologies and concepts of reef keeping.

Moderators: Moderators, Mod: Advanced Discussion

Testing Regime

Postby Vilante » Tue 12 Jan, 2016 10:58 am

I have had a good look but haven't found a definitive answer, I guess because it depends on your goals.

I was wondering what a good testing regime looks like? I know some people don't test at all etc etc but I'm new to this, and I want to build from my current FOWLR to a mixed reef so while I'm putting together all the equipment I wanted to try to get a handle on the stability of all the levels.

What are people's regime's and what would they recommend for a noob in my situation?
Vilante
Bicentenary Reefer

Re: Testing Regime

Postby chromus » Tue 12 Jan, 2016 12:17 pm

As you mention many people dont test for a range of reasons. Some because they are lazy, some because they have matrix like vision and can tell the reading just from looking at their corals.

Based on you objectives a good place to start would be Alk/Ca/Mg and PO4/NO3 at least weekly. This will allow you to accurately ensure you are dosing the right chemicals and removing enough nutrients to make the tank suited for corals.

I won't go into the how's and whys of nutrient control as you haven't asked, but chances are you have a few months of getting things in order before you are really coral ready.

The aim of the game is to make sure your Alk/Ca/Mg are all within the accepted ranges and stable, while bringing your nutrients down to suited levels which is what will be your major work point based on your statements above.