• Advertisement
RTAW Advertiser

Corner cube reef ~photo journal~

The purpose of this forum is to allow people to showcase their tanks, and allow other uses to ask questions on equipment, livestock, methodology etc.

Moderators: Moderators, Mod: Tank Journals, Promotions, Competitions & Sponsorship

Corner cube reef ~photo journal~

Postby melfish » Fri 08 Apr, 2016 5:51 pm

Introduction:
Hi! I've been keeping freshwater planted systems for around 10 years now, and this is my first saltwater/reef aquarium.

System Objectives: A fun and easy low tech, relatively low maintenance reef.

System Type: Just soft corals and LPS for now.

Display System:

Strike up Date: 20th January 2016.

Display Tank: 50x50cm wide by 60cm high rimless/braceless from Mary-Anne’s Aquariums. There are two viewing panels, which are starfire/low iron glass. Backing is just black vinyl from a sign writer.

Display Lighting: 165w MarsAqua LED (ideally Hydra 26 or 52 HD).

Stand: DIY stand sitting on the end of my daybed.

Hood: None, open top.

Sump: None.

Refugium: None.

Support systems:

System Water: NSW from 100% Reef Safe.

Display Water circulation: Jebao WP10. Also getting a cheap powerhead to break the surface tension.

Skimmer: None currently. Considering Tunze Comline DOC 9004 but figured extra water changes are probably more beneficial in a tank this size, esp without dosing.

Evaporation Top Up: Manual.

Chemical Support:

None as of yet.

Current FTS:

:clownfish:
Last edited by melfish on Sun 11 Sep, 2016 5:04 pm, edited 3 times in total.
melfish
RTAW Reefer

Re: Corner cube reef

Postby NewyReefer » Fri 08 Apr, 2016 7:14 pm

Awesome start that scape looks cool in that tank!!!

Yes i would definitely invest in a skimmer but in my experience i wouldn't use the Tunze i didn't get good results with mine at all.