• Advertisement
RTAW Advertiser

Broken Crown Reef

The purpose of this forum is to allow people to showcase their tanks, and allow other uses to ask questions on equipment, livestock, methodology etc.

Moderators: Moderators, Promotions, Competitions & Sponsorship, Mod: Tank Journals

Broken Crown Reef

Postby brainplug » Mon 29 Feb, 2016 7:32 am

Introduction:

Hi there,

After doing extensive experimentation (and continuing to do so) with tropical freshwater setups, I have decided to take the plunge into marine. This will be the charting of my progress.

System Objectives:

Hopefully I'll end up with a beautiful little utopia for the selected fish and corals that I plan to keep. Seeing this is my first time keeping a marine tank, I'm not opposed to any advice that any more seasoned reefers may offer me as I go along.

System Type: Mixed Reef

Display System:

Strike up Date: 28/02/2016

Display Tank: Reefer 170 (130l)

Display Lighting: Ecotech Radion xr30w Pro with RMS tank mount (controlled via ReefLink)

Stand: Red Seas Reefer 170 in black (with all the salty marks building up already, I'm starting to understand why people go white!)

Hood: Rimless!

Sump: Reefer 170 Sump (35litres)

Refugium: Currently no plans

Refugium Lighting: As above

Support systems:

System Water: Artificial Salt Water (Red Sea Coral Pro)

Display Water circulation: 2 x Ecotech Vortech MP10wQD - Controlled via ReefLink

Return Pump: Nyos Viper 3.0

Skimmer: Nyos Quantum 120

Evaporation Top Up: Reefer 170 (Built in Auto Top Up)

Chemical Support:

Calcium Addition: Randy's Recipe #2 - Controlled via Kamoer AutoDoser

Alkilinity Addition: Randy's Recipe #2 - Controlled via Kamoer AutoDoser

Other Chemical Maintenance: Randy's Recipe #2 (Mg) - Controlled via Kamoer AutoDoser

Current Water Chemistry: As of 24/04/2016
pH: 8.4 pH
Ammonia: 0 ppm
Nitrites: 0 ppm
Nitrates: 5 ppm
Phosphates: 0.025 ppm
Alkalinity: 8.4 dKH
Calcium: 400 ppm
Salinity / Specific Gravity: Currently 1.025 SG